Who is H-STAT?

H-STAT members are a diverse group.

Our members are students in a variety of health-professional training programs, ranging from:

  • Medical
  • Nursing
  • PA
  • Public health
  • PhD programs

We are also seeking involvement from students in other disciplines, including business and law, who have an interest in health. Although much of our programming takes place in Atlanta, we also have a chapter in Macon and plans to expand elsewhere in the state. If you would like to start a chapter at your school, please let us know!

Membership is what you choose to make of it. You can focus on one program or try out a variety of events. You can even lead and organize your own events. Although we do not charge a membership fee, we encourage members to make a donation of $10 or more to become an H-STAT Supporter. As an H-STAT Supporter you will have:

  • Volunteer opportunities with Street Medicine and Cut Hypertension
  • Guaranteed and free registration to events such as the Leadership Symposium, Advocacy Trainings, and Legislative Breakfast
  • Complimentary refreshments at many H-STAT events
  • Recognition in our Annual Report and reports to professional school deans.

H-STAT’s day-to-day operations are lead by the Board of Directors (BOD) and staff.

The student leaders are also guided by the Board of Advisors (BOA) and Programmatic Advisory Committee (PAC), which are comprised of professors, professionals, and community partners.

Check out the “Involvement” tab to learn how you can join us in creating a healthier Georgia.

Board of Directors

The purpose of the Board of Directors is to ensure the fulfillment of H-STAT’s mission and to oversee the operations of H-STAT.

We have quarterly meetings, including one annual board retreat each spring.  Day-to-day concerns are addressed weekly by our Executive Committee:

  • President
  • Board Chair
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Vice President of Operations
  • Vice President of Programming
  • Executive Director

The BOD is responsible to the organization in the following ways:

  • Adherence to H-STAT’s vision
  • Development of diverse funding streams
  • Ensuring the financial health of the organization
  • Cultivation of relationships with students, schools, and community partners
  • Promotion of H-STAT’s public image
  • Remaining informed and engaged in local edcuational and political discourses
  • Prioritizing H-STAT’s agenda to address up-to-date issues of education, service, and policy in Georgia

In addition to attendance at quarterly meetings, each board member is responsible for overseeing different program areas – education, service, and advocacy – and organizational components, including development, evaluation, and day-to-day operations.

Sydney Smith-Graham

President
MPH Student
Georgia State University
sydney@hstatga.org

Stephen Russell

Vice President of Programming
MD Student
Emory University School of Medicine
stephen@hstatga.org

Muriel Konne

Secretary
MPH Student
Emory University Rollins School of Public Health
muriel@hstatga.org

Chivon Brown

Cut Hypertension Chair

MD Student
Morehouse School of Medicine

chivon@hstatga.org

Dyanna Fountain

Membership Chair

MD Student
Morehouse School of Medicine

dyanna@hstatga.org

Rebecca Packwood

Rebecca Packwood

Development Chair

Rebecca Packwood

Development Chair

MD Student
Emory University School of Medicine

rebecca@hstatga.org

Current Board of Directors

Emily Woods

Board Chair
MD/PhD Student
Emory University School of Medicine
emily@hstatga.org

Akshaya Kannan

Advocacy Chair
MD Student
Emory University School of Medicine 
akshaya@hstatga.org

James Welle

Street Medicine Chair
MD Student
Emory University School of Medicine

james@hstatga.org

Hayley Hamilton

Steppin’ for Health Chair
MPH Student
Georgia State University
hayley@hstatga.org

Chloe Meyer

Mercer at Macon President
MD Student
Mercer School of Medicine at Macon
chloe@hstatga.org

Miah Davis

Miah Davis

Marketing and Communications Chair

Miah Davis

Marketing and Communications Chair
MD Student
Emory University School of Medicine
miah@hstatga.org

Julian Richardson

Treasurer
MD/MBA Student
Emory University School of Medicine & Goizueta Business School

julian@hstatga.org

Celia Foster

Vice President of Operations
MD Student
Emory University School of Medicine

celia@hstatga.org

Kate Dirks

Back on My Feet Chair
BSN/MSN Student
Emory University School of Nursing
kate@hstatga.org

Aleta Christensen, MPH

Practicum Coordinator
Georgia State University
aleta@hstatga.org

Camara Gregory

Monitoring & Evaluations Chair
MPH Student
Georgia State University
camara@hstatga.org

Stephanie Davidson

Stephanie Davidson

Education Chair

Stephanie Davidson

Education Chair
Student of Chiropractic Medicine
Life University

stephanie@hstatga.org

Board of Advisors

Our Board of Advisors is made up of a variety of health professionals and community leaders representing a diverse range of businesses, nonprofits, and institutions across Georgia.

Board of Advisors

Stacey Abrams, JD
House Minority Leader, Georgia General Assembly
State Representative, 84th House District

Anjli Aurora Hinman, CNM, FNP
Leading Co-Founder, The Atlanta Birth Center
Provider, Intown Midwifery
Past President, H-STAT

Daniel Blumenthal, MD, MPH
Associate Dean, Community Health
Department of Community Health and Preventive Medicine
Morehouse School of Medicine

Carlos del Rio, MD
Hubert Professor and Chair, Hubert Department of Global Health, Rollins School of Public Health

Jeff Graham, MFA
Executive Director, Georgia Equality

Grady Strom, PhD
Vice Chair and Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Director, Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning, Mercer University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Professional Advisory Committee

H-STAT is supported by a Professional Advisory Council, which is composed of individuals who provide guidance for H-STAT’s programmatic areas.

David Adelman, JD, MPP
State Senator, 42nd District

Ayanna Buckner, MD, MPH
Community Health and Preventive Medicine, National Center for Primary Care, Morehouse School of Medicine

Henry Kahn, MD
Professor Emeritus Emory University in the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine, Chair of the Physicians for a National Health Program Chapter in Georgia

Linda Smith Lowe, MS
Public Policy Advocate

Lisa Lundquist, PharmD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Mercer University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Carmen Mohan, MD
Instructor of General Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine
Co-Founder, H-STAT

Saundra Turner, EdD
Chair of the Medical College of Georgia Department of Biobehavioral Nursing

Rita Valenti, RN
Project South, Grady Health Systems

 

amazon

H-STAT is now on AmazonSmile!

Click the button below to select Health Students Taking Action Together, Inc. as your charity of choice, and we’ll get a portion of the proceeds from all your eligible Amazon purchases.

H-STAT on AmazonSmile 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This