Our Board of Directors

The purpose of the Board of Directors is to ensure the fulfillment of H-STAT’s mission and to oversee the operations of H-STAT.

The student leaders are guided by the Board of Advisors (BOA) and Programmatic Advisory Committee (PAC), which are comprised of professors, professionals, and community partners.

The BOD is responsible to the organization in the following ways:

  • Implementing H-STAT’s vision and mission to serve Georgia patients through education, service, and policy at the local, state, and federal level
  • Informing the public and providing opportunities to engaging in policy and advocacy
  • Ensuring the organization’s financial health through diverse funding streams
  • Cultivating relationships with students, schools, and community partners
  • Prioritizing H-STAT’s agenda to address up-to-date issues of education, service, and policy in Georgia

In addition, each board member is responsible for overseeing different program areas – education, service, and advocacy – and organizational components, including development, evaluation, and day-to-day operations.

Stephen Gurley
Emory School of Medicine

Jay Qui
Emory University, Masters in Genetic Counseling

Vice-President of Advocacy
Emaline Laney
Emory School of Medicine

STAR Directors
Eudora Olsen
Emory School of Medicine


Bharat Sanders
Medical College of Georgia

Georgia State Chapter Chairs
Yasamine Jalinouszadeh
GSU School of Law

Morehouse Chapter Chair
Nina Wyatt
Morehouse School of Medicine

PCOM Chapter Chair

Kandarp Shah

Board Chair
Alyssa Greenhouse
Emory School of Medicine

Sarah Keuhl
Emory School of Medicine

Director of Communications
Mark Luskus
Emory School of Medicine

Street Medicine Director
Suhaib Abaza
Morehouse School of Medicine

Prison Praxis Directors
Gabrielle Carter


Amiya Walton
Morehouse School of Medicine

Cut Hypertension Director
Caitlin Ray

GSU School of Public Health

Emory Chapter Chairs
Vincent Hayward
Emory School of Medicine

Director of Alumni Relations
Karishma Saina
GSU, Masters in Biology